In the Bethlehem area

BfP performed in 2007 at the laying of the cornerstone for Dar al Kalima College (now "Diyar").

www.diyar.ps

» Brass News
» in Talitha Kumi
» in the Bethlehem area
» in Germany
» Brass Tours

Brass for Peace e.V.

c/o Eberhard Helling
+49 (0)5741 5255
e.helling@brass-for-peace.de

c/o Monika Hofmann
+49 (0)5221 176 676
m.hofmann@brass-for-peace.de

Brass for Peace is not only active in Talitha Kumi, but contributes as well to other institutions in Bethlehem area.As of 2009, volunteers teach at the Lutheran school in Beit Sahour, where brass instruments are not completely alien. Years ago, the school already had student brass ensemble. Some students play also brass at the Scouts. With the brass project, Brass for Peace somehow revives an old tradition at the school.

The Lutheran congregation in Bethlehem is using a variety of different educational initiatives and institutions to ensure that the young people in the area will have the opportunity for a future in Palestine.

One component of this concept is musical training at Dar Alkalima School. The students not only learn to play an instrument, but are also taught the basics of music theory. Since January 2011, Brass for Peace teaches at the Dar Alkalima School. Meanwhile the brass project became an integral part of the school's musical concept.

Since the summer of 2010, Brass for Peace and the college have had a cooperation agreement – The qualified volunteers for Brass for Peace are available as teachers to support the Lutheran congregation in Bethlehem in this important task.

Every now and then, students of Brass for Peace play at the Lutheran Christmas Church in Bethlehem, during the service of Reverend Mitri Raheb as well as in concerts. As of summer 2013, first steps have been taken to build up a brass choir.

From time to time, Brass for Peace pays a musical visit at the German-speaking congregation in Jerusalem. It particularly contributes to services at the Church of the Redeemer and occasionally shares in concerts at the Ascension Church.

On Sunday, November 30, 2010, the young brass musicians from Talitha Kumi and Beit Sahour performed for the first time at the Christmas Market in Bethlehem. » more

In der Region Bethlehem

BfP musizierte 2007 bei der Grundsteinlegung des Dar al Kalima-Colleges (jetzt "Diyar").

www.diyar.ps

» Bläserisches
» in Talitha Kumi
» in der Region Bethlehem
» in Deutschland
» Bläserreisen

Brass for Peace e.V.

c/o Eberhard Helling
+49 (0)5741 5255
e.helling@brass-for-peace.de

c/o Monika Hofmann
+49 (0)5221 176 676
m.hofmann@brass-for-peace.de

Brass for Peace wirkt nicht nur in Talitha Kumi, sondern auch an einigen weiteren Einrichtungen: Seit ca 2009 erteilen die Volontäre auch Unterricht in der Lutherischen Schule Beit Sahour. Blechblasinstrumente sind dort nicht ganz fremd, denn vor vielen Jahren gab es dort eine Art Schülerposaunenchor. Mittlerweile spielen nur noch wenige Blechbläser bei den Pfadfindern mit. Mit dem Blechbläserprojekt belebt Brass for Peace in gewisser Weise wieder eine alte Tradition dieser Schule.

Die lutherische Gemeinde in Bethlehem möchte mit ganz verschiedenen Bildungsinitiativen und – Einrichtungen dafür sorgen, dass die junge Bevölkerung der Region eine Zukunftschance in Palästina selbst hat.

Ein Baustein in diesem Konzept ist die musikalische Ausbildung an der luth. Schule Dar Alkalima. Instrumentalunterricht und Chorarbeit gehören zum Schulalltag. Seit Januar 2011 unterrichtet Brass for Peace auch in dieser Schule, die Blechbläser sind mittlerweile fester Bestandteil des musikalischen Konzeptes.

Zwischen Brass for Peace und dem Dar Alkalima-College (eine Abteilung des Diyar-Consortium) besteht seit Sommer 2010 eine Kooperationsvereinbarung. Die qualifizierten Volontäre von Brass for Peace stehen bei Bedarf als Unterrichtende in der Musik-Abteilung zur Verfügung.

Immer wieder spielen Bläser von Brass for Peace in der Lutherischen Weihnachtskirche Bethlehem bei Pfarrer Mitri Raheb in Gottesdiensten und Konzerten. Die Gründung eines Gemeinde-Posaunenchores ist das nächste Projekt.

Auch in der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinde in Jerusalem ist Brass for Peace öfters bläserisch zu Gast. Besondere Gottesdienste in der Erlöserkirche und gelegentlich Konzerte in der Himmelfahrtskirche werden von Brass for Peace musikalisch mitgestaltet.

Am Sonntag, 30. November 2010 spielten Jungbläser aus Talitha Kumi und Beit Sahour zum ersten Mal auf dem Weihnachtsmarkt in Bethlehem. » mehr